City of Lufkin, 300 E. Shepherd
Lufkin, Texas 75902 936-634-8881

Lufkin City Council
Report a Water Leak      

City Council

Council Home Page
Mayor Bob Brown
Ward 1 Guessippina Bonner
Ward 2 Robert Shankle
Ward 3 Lynn Torres
Ward 4 Mark Hicks
Ward 5 Rocky Thigpen
Ward 6 Sarah Murray



Councilmember Ward 5

(936) 634-5970


Rocky Thigpen was elected to City Council in May 2014 Mr. Thigpen is currently employed at The Texas Department of Public Safety serving the State of Texas as a Corporal in the Highway Patrol.  Mr. Thigpen previously served as commissioner on the City of Lufkin’s Planning and Zoning Board and is currently President of the Board of Crime Stoppers of Lufkin. Mr. Thigpen has served on the Mosaic Board and the Airport Advisory Board. Mr. Thigpen is a past member of the State Bar of Texas District 2B Grievance Committee.


He is a graduate of Stephen F. Austin State University and holds a B.S. degree in Applied Arts and Sciences.


He is married to Terri (Little) Thigpen and has four sons, Ryan, Alan, Austin and Blake, and has two grandsons and two granddaughters. He and his wife are members of First United Methodist Church.

Alert Lufkin