City of Lufkin, 300 E. Shepherd
Lufkin, Texas 75902 936-634-8881

Lufkin City Council
Report a Water Leak      

City Council

Council Home Page
Mayor Bob Brown
Ward 1
Guessippina Bonner
Ward 2 Robert Shankle
Ward 3 Lynn Torres
Ward 4 Mark Hicks
Ward 5 Rocky Thigpen
Ward 6 Sarah Murray



Guessippina Bonner
Councilmember Ward 1

Guessippina Bonner was elected as Councilmember for Ward No. 1 in May 2016. She was born and raised in Fairfield, Texas. After high school she attend Dillard University in New Orleans, Louisiana where she earned her Bachelor of Science in Biological Science. After teaching in both Los Angeles and Portland, Oregon, she obtained her Masters of Science in Counseling and Psychology. After returning to Texas, she earned her Ed.D. in Educational Leadership and Cultural Studies from the University of Houston- College, Park followed by her Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Massachusetts. She is currently admitted to practice law in Massachusetts, the Eastern District Federal Court in Texas and the Supreme Court of the United States.

Ms. Bonner currently serves as the president of the local NAACP chapter and is very active in the community. She is service oriented and enjoys helping children achieve their goals through community activities. She is a member of the City of Lufkin Finance Committee, City of Lufkin Insurance Committee, and the DETCOG Board of Directors.

Alert Lufkin