City of Lufkin, 300 E. Shepherd
Lufkin, Texas 75901, 936-634-8881

Lufkin City Council

Report a Water Leak      

City Council

Lufkin City Council
Council Webcasts
Administrative Staff
Video on Demand
City Secretary
Council Agendas
Council Minutes
City Charter & Ordinances
Boards and Commissions
City Phone Numbers

Lufkin City Council

Top Row Left to Right:  Lynn Torres - Ward 3, Robert Shankle - Ward 2, Mark Hicks- Ward 4, Rocky Thigpen - Ward 5, Guessippina Bonner - Ward 1, Sarah Murray - Formerly Ward 6, Trent Burfine (not pictured) - Ward 6.

Bottom Row Left to Right:  Keith Wright - Former City Manager, Bob Brown - Mayor, Kara Andrepont - City Secretary

Map of Council Wards.

View Lufkin City Council Meeting Videos

Mayor Bob Brown

(936) 633-0299

Bob Brown was sworn in on May 15th, 2012 as the new Mayor for the City of Lufkin.

Bob Brown retired from Oncor (TPL,TU Electric, TXU) after 40 years of service.

He has been married to Tony since 1965, and they have two Daughters, Tana and Denna (deceased 1993). Tana is married and living in Katy with her husband, Greg, and two boys, Grayson and Griffin.

Brown has served in leadership roles at Lufkin First Christian Church for the last 29 years and also serves on the following Boards:

·         Hospice in the Pines

·         Stubblefield Learning Center

·         Angelina County Chamber of Commerce

·         City of Lufkin 4-B Economic Development Board

·         Angelina County Fair Board

·         Angelina County & Cities Health District Board

·         Deep East Texas Council of Governments (DETCOG) Board

Guessippina Bonner
Councilmember Ward 1

Guessippina Bonner was elected as Councilmember for Ward No. 1 in May 2016. She was born and raised in Fairfield, Texas. After high school she attend Dillard University in New Orleans, Louisiana where she earned her Bachelor of Science in Biological Science. After teaching in both Los Angeles and Portland, Oregon, she obtained her Masters of Science in Counseling and Psychology. After returning to Texas, she earned her Ed.D. in Educational Leadership and Cultural Studies from the University of Houston- College, Park followed by her Juris Doctorate degree from the University of Massachusetts. She is currently admitted to practice law in Massachusetts, the Eastern District Federal Court in Texas and the Supreme Court of the United States.

Ms. Bonner currently serves as the president of the local NAACP chapter and is very active in the community. She is service oriented and enjoys helping children achieve their goals through community activities. She is a member of the City of Lufkin Finance Committee, City of Lufkin Insurance Committee, and the DETCOG Board of Directors.

Councilman Shankle Image

Councilmember Ward 2
(936) 632-9795

Councilman Robert Shankle was elected to Lufkin City Council as Councilmember of Ward 2 on May 9, 2009. Councilman Shankle is a lifelong resident of Lufkin Texas. He received his education in the Lufkin Independent School and graduated from Lufkin High School in the Class of 1985. Also, a Leadership Lufkin Graduate of 2012.

A Desert Storm Disable Veteran, Councilman Shankle served in the United States Army, National Guard, and US Army Reserve for a total of 14 years. He founded several committees for the benefit of the community including The Lufkin Pro Day Group, The Neighborhood Leadership Council of North Lufkin, and Clergy and Police Alliance (CAPA). Councilman Shankle is a member of Texas Association of Black City Council Members and National Black Caucus of Local Elected officials. Councilman Shankle is a proud member of The Church by Christ Jesus where he is very active. His Favorite Quote is “TO WHOM MUCH IS GIVEN, MUCH IS REQUIRED”

Additionally, he serves his community in the following membership capacities:

  • 4B Economic Development Board
  • Impact Lufkin
  • Angelina County Economic Development Partnership
  • Clergy and Police Alliance
  • Executive Directors Forum
  • Citizen Fire Academy Alumni
  • SFA School of Social Works Professional Advisory Committee
  • African American Alzheimer's Alliance Board
  • Lufkin Convention Visitors Bureau Board
  • Leadership Lufkin Committee Board
  • Lufkin Pro Day Group
  • Neighborhood Leadership Council of North Lufkin
  • DECTOG Board
  • Mentor of Local Drug Court

  • Angelina Public Health Coalition
  • Mosaic Center Board
  • United Way Board
  • Coalition Board
  • Friendship Social Club

Councilmember Ward 3
(936) 630-4257

Lynn Powell Torres was appointed to the City Council as Councilmember of Ward 3 on September 21, 1999. She was elected to the Council in May of 2000.

Mrs. Torres was born in Louisville, Kentucky but moved to Texas during elementary school. She is a graduate of Richardson High School near Dallas. Mrs. Torres attended Stephen F. Austin State University and received her Bachelor’s Degree in Spanish and Sociology with a minor in Social Rehabilitation Services. She received a Master’s Degree in Spanish, and a Master’s Degree in Education with a Mid-Management Certification. She also received a Superintendent’s Certification from Stephen F. Austin State University.

Mrs. Torres is beginning her 36th year working in the field of education here in Lufkin. After spending 30 years at Lufkin High School as a Spanish teacher, department head, activities director, assistant principal and associate principal, she currently serves as the Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction for Lufkin ISD.

Mrs. Torres is a member of the Kurth Memorial Library Board, the 4B Economic Development Board and the Tree Board of the City of Lufkin.

Mrs. Torres is married to Pablo Torres, Jr., who is an elementary principal with Lufkin ISD. She has two children, Jeremy and Jessica.




Councilmember Ward 4

Mark Hicks was elected to the Lufkin City Council on May 9th 2015 representing Ward 4. Mr. Hicks is a fifth generation Lufkinite with deep ties to Lufkin and Angelina County. He is a graduate of Lufkin High School and received a Bachelor of Arts from Stephen F. Austin State University. He and his wife Callie have 3 daughters, Caroline, Macy and Aniston.

Mr. Hicks is a real-estate developer with a focus on revitalizing many of the historic buildings in Downtown Lufkin. He is also president of JM Outdoor, a regional billboard advertising company.

Mr. Hicks was the 2011 recipient of the Golden Anvil award for his work revitalizing Downtown Lufkin. He currently serves on the Angelina County Chamber of Commerce board of directors, The Women’s Shelter of East Texas board of directors, Lufkin’s Economic Development Partnership, Past Chairman Angelina County United Way and is a member of Harmony Hill Baptist Church.

Councilmember Ward 5

(936) 634-5970


Rocky Thigpen was elected to City Council in May 2014 Mr. Thigpen is currently employed at The Texas Department of Public Safety serving the State of Texas as a Corporal in the Highway Patrol.  Mr. Thigpen previously served as commissioner on the City of Lufkin’s Planning and Zoning Board and is currently President of the Board of Crime Stoppers of Lufkin. Mr. Thigpen has served on the Mosaic Board and the Airport Advisory Board. Mr. Thigpen is a past member of the State Bar of Texas District 2B Grievance Committee.


He is a graduate of Stephen F. Austin State University and holds a B.S. degree in Applied Arts and Sciences.


He is married to Terri (Little) Thigpen and has four sons, Ryan, Alan, Austin and Blake, and has two grandsons and two granddaughters. He and his wife are members of First United Methodist Church.

Trent Burfine

Councilmember Ward 6

(936) 225-8853

Trent Burfine was elected to the City Council in November 2020.